# BANKL THE BUSH

The Battle of the Bush Series will comprise 16 qualifiers commencing on 20 April 2019 at Gladstone TC, culminating in a final at Tattersall's Tiara Raceday at Eagle Farm on Saturday 22 June 2019.

# The series in full comprises the following:

DATE	CLUB	REGION	RACE
20/04/2019	Gladstone TC	CA	Open Plate (SW) 1194m
25/04/2019	Cunnamulla & DDRC	DO	Open Plate (SW) 1200m
4/05/2019	Bundaberg RC	SE	Open Hcp 1212m
11/05/2019	Gordonvale TC	FN	Open Plate (SW) 1100m
11/05/2019	Longreach JC	CW	Open Plate (SW) 1100m
11/05/2019	Mount Isa RC	NW	Open Hcp 1100m
11/05/2019	Warwick TC	ED	Open Hcp 1100m
18/05/2019	Burdekin RC	LE	Open Hcp 1180m
18/05/2019	Central Warrego RC	DO	Newmarket Open Hcp 1200m
25/05/2019	Thangool RC	CA	Open Hcp 1200m
25/05/2019	Nanango RC	SE	Open Plate (SW) 1200m
1/06/2019	Mareeba TC	FN	Open Hcp 1210m
1/06/2019	Bowen TC	LE	Open Plate (SW) 1100m
1/06/2019	Cloncurry & DRC	NW	Open Plate (SW) 1000m
1/06/2019	Goondiwindi RC	ED	Open Plate (SW) 1200m
8/06/2019	Barcaldine RC	CW	Open Hcp 1200m
22/06/2019	Final - Tattersalls RC @ Eagle Farm		Rest OMWL2Y Quality Hcp 1200m



**Tattersall's Tiara Raceday** at Eagle Farm **Battle of the Bush Final** 

Refer to the **RACE** Magazine and RQ website for individual prizemoney for the qualifiers listed above.

Float subsidies will be paid to the connections of horses that remain in the field after final scratching time on the following basis:

- South East and Eastern Downs Regions \$500
- Downs and Capricorn Regions \$750
- Central West and Leichhardt Regions \$1,500
- Far North and North West Regions \$2,000

# ROGRAM/CONDITIONS

- Restricted to horses that started in any of the 16 qualifier races.
- Restricted to horses that have not won a metropolitan race in the period 13/6/17 to 12/6/19. For the purposes of this clause, a win in a Battle of the Bush Final or a Country Cups Challenge Final during this period is not deemed to be a win in a metropolitan race.
- All placegetters (1st, 2nd, 3rd) in each of the 16 qualifiers races are deemed to be automatically nominated for the Final
- Unplaced horses from the qualifiers are also eligible to nominate for the final with nominations for these entries closing 11am Monday 10 June 2019
- Acceptances due 10am Wednesday 12 June 2019. Note: Scratchings will only be permitted after the acceptance deadline if approved by QRIC stewards
- Jockey declaration due 12:00 midday Wednesday 19 June 2019
- Early scratchings due 9.00am Wednesday 19 June 2019.
- Final scratchings due 7.30am Saturday 22 June 2019.
- No Nomination, Acceptance or Feature Race Fees will be applicable to the Final

## **FINAL - BALLOTING CONDITIONS**

- Composition of the field will be determined by the highest placegetter (1st, 2nd, 3rd) in each of the qualifiers in each of the 8 regions. (see condition below regarding dead-heats)
- Qualifiers for the Final from each of the eight (8) regions will be determined in the following order:
- Winners of individual qualifiers (automatically ballot exempt)
- The 2nd placegetter in individual qualifiers
- The 3rd placegetter in individual qualifiers
- The 2nd placegetter in the other qualifier within the same region, on the condition that horse has not already secured a position in final
- The 3rd placegetter in the other qualifier within the same region, on the condition that horse has not already secured a position in final
- 6. Should a ballot be required to determine horses within the same category (i.e. 2nd placegetters then 3rd placegetters), preference will be determined on the following basis:
  - The horse with the highest official RQ rating
  - If two or more horses have the same official RQ rating they will be balloted by lot.
- 7. If there are not 2 qualifier placegetters from each region declared as acceptors for the final, the highest placegetters from other regions that have not already secured a place in the Final will be eligible to be included. Preference will be determined on the following basis:
- The horse with the highest official RQ rating If two or more horses have the same official RQ rating they will be balloted by lot.
- 8. The composition of emergencies for the final shall be determined by the highest placegetters from all of the 16 qualifiers that are not included in the field for the final. Preference will be determined on the following basis:

- The highest qualifier placegetters (2nd placegetters then 3rd placegetters) that have not already secured a place in the Final
- The horse with the highest official RQ rating
- If two or more horses have the same official RQ rating they will be balloted by lot.
- 9. If all placegetters from the qualifiers are exhausted and the final field (plus emergencies) is still not complete, then unplaced horses from the qualifiers that have nominated for the final, will complete the composition of the field for the final. Preference will be determined on the following basis:
  - The horse with the highest official RQ rating
  - If two or more horses have the same official RQ rating they will be balloted by lot.
- 10. Should there be any dead-heats in the qualifiers, preference will be determined on the following basis:
  - The horse with the highest official RQ rating If two or more horses have the same official RQ rating they will be balloted by lot.
- 11. Should a qualifier be abandoned or be officially deemed a no-race and is unable to be rescheduled, the aforementioned criteria shall apply

### **QUALIFIERS - CONDITIONS**

- To be eligible to compete in a qualifier, a horse must have started in a minimum of 5 non-TAB races in Queensland in the 12 months immediately preceding the acceptance date for that qualifier specifically.
- Qualifiers will not be divided
- Allowances for Apprentices are permitted in the qualifiers.

